STATE ELECTION COMMISSION No. 39, II - Cross Street, Peter Nagar Puducherry – 605 013. ******

Puducherry, the 03-12-2012

Press Release

As per the directions of the Hon'ble High Court of Madras, the State Election Commission, Puducherry has scheduled the Civic Elections to the Five Municipal Chairman in five Municipalities of Puducherry, Oulgaret, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam and 122 Municipal Councillors, 98 Commune Panchayat Council Members, 98 Village Panchayats Presidents, and 815 Village Panchayat Ward Members in 10 Commune Panchayats of Ariyankuppam, Bahour, Mannadipet, Nattapakkam, Villianur, Kottucherry, Nedungadu, Nearvy, Thirumalairayanpattinam and Thirunallar.

The proposed elections in this Union Territory are scheduled to be held in three phases.

I Phase

- 1. Karaikal Municipality
- 2. Mahe Municipality
- 3. Yanam Municipality
- 4. Kottucherry Commune Panchayat
- 5. Nedungadu Commune Panchayat
- 6. Neravy Commune Panchayat
- 7. Thirumalairayanpattinam Commune Panchayat
- 8. Thirunallar Commune Panchayat

II Phase

- 1. Puducherry Municipality
- 2. Oulgaret Municipality
- 3. Ariyankuppam Commune Panchayat

III Phase

- 1. Bahour Commune Panchayat
- 2. Mannadipet Commune Panchayat
- 3. Nettapakkam Commune Panchayat
- 4. Villianur Commune Panchayat

Schedule of Elections

I Phase

Filing of Nomination	14-12-2012
Last date for filing nomination	21-12-2012
Scrutiny of nomination	22-12-2012
Last date for withdrawal of candidature	24-12-2012
Poll day	04-01-2013

II Phase

Filing of Nomination	17-12-2012
Last date for filing nomination	24-12-2012
Scrutiny of nomination	26-12-2012
Last date for withdrawal of candidature	28-12-2012
Poll day	08-01-2013

III Phase

Filing of Nomination	20-12-2012
Last date for filing nomination	27-12-2012
Scrutiny of nomination	28-12-2012
Last date for withdrawal of candidature	31-12-2012
Poll day	10-01-2013

After poll for all the three phases, the Counting will be taken up on 12-01-2013.

The Commission has already appointed 15 Returning Officers and 75 Assistant Returning Officers to conduct the election in the Union Territory of Puducherry. This Commission has also appointed District Collector, Puducherry and District Collector, Karaikal as District Election Officers for the respective regions. Likewise, the Regional Administrators of Mahe and Yanam have been appointed as the Regional Elections Officers for their respective regions.

To conduct the Local Body Elections 1326 Polling Stations have been identified wherein 7300 officers will be deployed for conduct of polls. There are about 8.32 lakh electors who will cast their vote, of which 4.88 lakh are from five Municipalities and 3.44 lakh from 10 Commune Panchayats.

With this announcement The Model Code of Conduct comes into force from today.

Above announcement and all further actions in the election process are subject to the result of WP No. 30477 of 2012 pending before Hon'ble High Court of Madras.

(UDDIPTA RAY) STATE ELECTION COMMISSIONER